Budapest in Pictures

IMG_8494

At 6 am, there was no one around to take my picture, so I attempted a selfie but either the sign or my head was too big

IMG_5352

Buda castle (which contains an art museum) from the Pest side of the river

 

IMG_5381

Even on Sunday, at 7 am there’s no one seeing St. Stephen’s Basilica

IMG_5385

St. Stephen’s Basilica

IMG_5396

The statue in the back is supposed to be a monument to the victims of the German invasion of Hungary during World War II, but many argue that it neglects to recognize that the Hungarian government played an active role in sending thousands of Jews to concentration camps, so they’ve set up the “living” memorial in front

IMG_5405

Shoes on the Danube Bank: a memorial to the Jews killed in World War II

IMG_5414

Me + the Chain Bridge

IMG_5424

I took the funicular to avoid walking all the way up to the castle, and felt like I was straight out of a Wes Anderson movie

IMG_8534

The view from the top of the Funicular

IMG_5442

Me + the Hungarian Parliament building, the Chain Bridge, and St. Stephen’s Basilica¬†

IMG_5446

Mathias Church on the Buda side of the river

IMG_5456

Me at Fisherman’s Bastion with the Hungarian Parliament in the background

After nearly missing my bus from Prague to Budapest, I arrived around 5:45 am. I was surprised at how empty the streets were after taking a crowded subway from the bus station to city center. I only had about 7 hours before I had to go to the airport (I bought the cheap flight out of Budapest before I knew how I was going to get there, oops), but I managed to squeeze in almost everything. I first explored the Pest side of the river, seeing the Hungarian Parliament building, the State Opera house, the Chain bridge, and some World War II memorials. Next, I walked across the Chain Bridge, and took the funicular up to the top of Buda castle. I walked around the castle and National Art Gallery (but didn’t have time to go inside), then down to Mathias Church and Fisherman’s Bastion, back across the bridge and to the airport to spend the night in Faro, Portugal. After being with a big group of friends for the past few days, it was nice to be able to see what I wanted at my own pace; next time, I’ll make sure to be there longer!

Leave a Reply

