Él que lee mucho y anda mucho, ve mucho y sabe mucho

img_3560

We were promised waterfalls on the hike, but this was the only one we saw.

img_3585

The view for much of the trail

img_3601

One of the summits, with some bigger, snowy(!) mountains in the distance

img_7539

The Sierra de Guadarrama in the distance

img_3707

“Bien parece,” respondió don Quijote, “que no estás cursado en esto de las aventuras”

img_7576

Consuegra, España

img_7580

The Windmills of La Mancha

img_3665

Me + windmill

img_7583

Some of the windmills and the castle, with the town in the distance

I arrived in Madrid thinking that my classes started on January 23rd. I learned that, for some reason, the first week of classes was cancelled, so I had two weeks free before my classes actually started. I spent the first few days not doing much besides trying to recover from the jet lag, work on applications for summer internship funding, and visit some tourist spots.

By the weekend, I decided I needed to get out of the house so I went on a hike with a meetup.com group. The group was made up of Americans and an Australian, and it was interesting to be with foreigners who weren’t just in Spain to study. Our conversations during the beautiful hike ranged from our lives in the US to our lives in Spain, but continually returned to our new president and the Women’s March we were all missing. It was refreshing to be both out in nature, but also surrounded by people with more diverse ideas than the students from Tufts with whom I spend much of my time.

The next day, I got up early, and headed to the small town of Consuegra, where you can see the traditional windmills that Don Quixote thought were giants. I spent the day wandering between the mills, exploring the sleepy town, and searching for lunch (everything was closed!). Overall, though it’s been a relaxing week since I arrived, full of museums and tourist activities, I’m feeling ready to get back into my routine; though I’m sure once the semester starts I’ll be wishing for the work to go away.

*The quote in the title is from Don Quixote, and means “Who reads much and walks much, sees much and knows much.”*

Leave a Reply

